72nd Palanca Awards is open for entries

The Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc. is now accepting entries for the 2024 Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (CPMA).

Deadline for submission is May 31, 2024.

The countr’y’s most prestigious literary competition is open to all Filipino citizens or former Filipino citizens of all ages, here or abroad.

Competitors can submit one (1) entry per category. The categories are:

  • Novel and Nobela;
  • English Division – Short Story, Short Story for Children, Essay, Poetry, Poetry Written for Children, One-act Play, and Full-length Play;
  • Filipino Division – Maikling Kuwento, Maikling Kuwentong Pambata, Sanaysay, Tula, Tula Para sa mga Bata, Dulang May Isang Yugto, Dulang Ganap ang Haba, and Dulang Pampelikula;
  • Regional Languages Division – Short Story-Cebuano, Short Story-Hiligaynon, and Short Story-Ilokano;
  • Kabataan Division – Kabataan Essay (English) and Kabataan Sanaysay (Filipino)
  • Kabataan Essay: Today’s youth are deeply influenced by technological advancements in social media and AI.  How can the government and families help the youth harness its transformative potential while mitigating inherent risks as they navigate the digital landscape?
  • Kabataan Sanaysay: Lubhang naiimpluwensyahan ang mga kabataan ngayon ng pag-unlad ng teknolohiya ng social media at AI. Paano matutulungan ng pamahalaan at mga pamilya ang mga kabataan na pagyamanin ang kakayahan nitong magdulot ng pagbabago habang nilulupig ang mga kaakibat na panganib ng kanilang pagbabaybay sa digital na mundo?

For the Novel and Nobela categories, works that were first published within two (2) years between June 1, 2022 and May 31, 2024 and unpublished works may be submitted. Only unproduced works may be entered in the Dulang Pampelikula category. A work that awarded a prize in another contest before midnight of May 31, 2024 is not qualified.

Submission must be accomplished online via the Palanca Awards website <http://www.palancaawards.com.ph/>. The Carlos Palanca Foundation WILL NOT ACCEPT PRINTED AND EMAIL submissions for all categories.


For the official contest rules and forms, visit the Palanca Awards website. Inquiries and other concerns may be directed via email at <cpfoundation@palancaawards.com.ph> or landline at (632) 8843-8277 / (632) 8478-7996. Look for Ms. Leslie Layoso or Ms. Susan Castillo.

All winners will be honored in a special ceremony later this year. Stay tuned for further announcements by following the CPMA website and CPMA Facebook <fb.com/palancaawards>.

What is your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News